Mildred D. Muhammad - DV Survivor, Advocate, Consultant, Author, Inspirational Speaker
 
Scared Silent Reviews
 
Amazing Strength
By Crystal Hollingsworth, April 2, 2013

Mildred Muhammad spoke at a womens event I'm involved with. She's such an inspiration to all women. There were over 200 women in the room and you could hear a pin drop as she spoke. Her book is just as captivating. A story of faith, encouragement, and overcoming unspeakable circumstances. Sometimes real life is stranger than fiction. A MUST READ.


Incredible Story
By Barbara J. Schoof, January 19, 2013

This is amazing to learn how a typical man and his relationships can turn so violent. The story of the D.C. Sniper is told and his family's courage and strength are remarkable.


********


Don't Silence the Violence
By Madaline, A Fan for Life ~ December 12, 2012

This book was well written and very personable. I read the entire book in two days.  I felt every emotion and clung to Mildred's every word. I cried when she cried. The book was incredible when came to expressing her feelings about her husband and especially her children. Ms. Muhammad you are a phenominal woman, I salute you. You let it be known that FAITH/love of self and god is an almighty healer..There is always HOPE.  Bless you Mother Mildred


All women should read this book
By Amazon Arki ~ October 29, 2012

Mildred Muhammad's true life story is one that EVERY woman should read.  After I opened the book, it was very hard to put down. Writing the story must have been so difficult, yet not even an iota as hard as living after she married the man who became the DC sniper. She tells her story openly with grace and deep inner strength, and is a beacon of light and hope for all women.

******

January 8, 2011
 
I received the book in perfect condition and actually had a chance to speak with the author. She is pleasant to speak to and reading the book you actually feel her story.
  
 ******
 
Thought Provoking
By Tracy Swoboda (CA) - October 1, 2010
 
Mildred is not who I thought she would be. I am guilty of contempt prior to investigation. I prejudged her based on the horrific actions of John. As it turns out, she is a strong woman who learns from life's lessons and continously strives to be the best person she can be. She is an excellent example of courage and integrity.
 
May Allah Continue To Lead You
By Sena "Sena" (Richmond VA) - September 3, 2010
 
I finished this book in 2 days . I probably could have finished it in one day if I didnt have to go to work. The author is candid about her life with her husband.Her beautiful spirit is vivid as she takes the reader through her journey of discovering love, then betrayal, fear, and then courage. An excellent read for any person but one that I would highly recommend to women who are married to men who are serving or have served in the military.
 
Scared Silent
By History Buff (USA) - July 11, 2010
 
A coregous memoir. A message to all women and men as well that abuse occurs in many ways. She explains the signs and the reasons victums stay in relationships too long. Lastly, she includes an escape plan. She may have been scared silent but she did escape!!!
 
One Woman's Courageous Story about a Silent Killer January 22, 2010, By (DC) Michelle Renee Rawls "DC Reviewer"
 
Scared Silent by Mildred Muhammad

I am a native Washingtonian and as I read this book it brought back the terrifying feeling I had as I traveled from D.C. to my part time job in Arlington Virginia. Looking around at every white van that came by me. Hoping that I would never be in the gas station long enough to be shot at and killed. Everyday I prayed that no one I knew would be the DC Sniper's next victim.
 
However, once I started reading Scared Silent I was immediately humbled by the courage that it had to have taken to be one with the DC Sniper and to take it a step further to know that you were really the intended victim. Mildred Muhammad paints the picture of the before and after life with first a loving husband and father. And, later a calculated killer who killed in cold blood with no remorse. This memoir is a book that everyone should read simply because we were all affected by it in some way. Not only that she tells a story of being victimized by a problem that we hear about everyday but often times can't relate to.
 
I believe her story will help others understand what Domestic Violence looks like. Not just the physical but the mental portion of it that we can't see. Mrs. Muhammad has done a wonderful job in showing us how Wars can change people and even make them worse.
 
This is a story of military deceit, mental health and domestic violence. But, it is also about a system that is not geared to hear our cries. She manages to humanize someone that everyone wanted to see dead. She reminds us that we were not the only victims here but she and her children along with Lee Boyd Malvo actually lived this terrifying ordeal. She allows you to go behind the scenes and feel some of the insanity and fear that she and her children lived with.
 
While I will never excuse or forget what John Muhammad did I can certainly see how he lost his mind. Mildred Muhammad has done more than a good job in taking us on her horrifying journey with a mad man. However, she has also took us on a journey of self discovery, recovery and healing. I applaud her and her children for sharing a part of themselves with us. Ten Stars for you Mrs. Muhammad and your new husband for being man enough to stand by you as you told your family's story.

The Official DC Reviewer
 
*****
 
Library Journal
 
Muhammad met the man of her dreams, married him, bore him three children—and endured years of suffering under his brutal verbal and emotional abuse. After leaving him, she was hounded, stalked, and threatened and her children were kidnapped in a custody dispute. When, in October 2002, she was asked by the police, "Do you believe your husband, John Allen Muhammad, could be the D.C. Sniper?" there was only one answer: yes.
 
This excellent memoir might not have been published without the D.C. Sniper angle, and that would have been a shame: Muhammad speaks up for all abused women, reminding us that scars aren't always visible and that emotional abuse is as devastating as physical abuse. Her insight about abuse in military families is clear-eyed and sensible as well. Even those who come to this book asking "How can their families not know?" will come away with a new understanding of and respect for this brave woman, whose faith saw her through to the end.
 
VERDICT Readers of true crime, memoir, and women's issues will appreciate this book, which also includes valuable advice and contact information for abused women.
 
—Deirdre Bray Root, Middletown P.L., OH
 
*****
 
Haunting!, October 23, 2009
By Mary Monroe "MissyMe" (Oakland, CA United States)
 
I was in the DC area during the shootings. It was my first book tour so I was more focused on that than I was about a sniper on the loose. It was only after the whole story came out that I realized how lucky I was to get back to California alive. As a former victim of abuse, my heart goes out to Sister Mildred.
 
When I saw her on Court TV and heard that she was writing a book about her experience I couldn't wait to read her story. I read the book in one night, and then had nightmares. Only another victim of abuse can fully understand why I reacted the way I did.
 
This is one women's club NOBODY wants to belong to. I sincerely thank Zane for publishing Mildred's book and I hope that we will all reach out to Mildred and support her by reading her story. It was awesome!
 
Mary Monroe, New York Times Bestselling author of God Ain't Blind
 
*****
 
Didn't put it down...very informative
Posted November 11, 2009 by RM, Canada
 
This book may be about Ms Mahammad but the information that it contains will help anyone that may have been, may be, or is being emotionally abused. I totally related with her about the emotional abuse and no one listening. Everyone thought I had the perfect marriage and husband but NO ONE knows what goes on behind closed doors. If you think a loved one is in an abusive relationship read it. It is an excellent read for anyone.
 
*****
 
At first it seems like a common story: despite some subtle (and not-so-subtle) hints that her lover might not be the person he says he is, a woman marries a man and finds herself in an oppressive relationship with a husband who alternates between loving and dispassionate, between cruel and conciliatory. They divorce, but her ex-husband continues to torment her, even kidnapping their children. But this is no typical story of marital abuse: the author’s ex-husband, John Allen Muhammad, became the mass murderer known as the D.C. sniper.
 
Although some elements of the book—the author’s experiences with a domineering and ultimately frightening man—will be familiar to many readers, it becomes something quite different, an up-close portrait of a murderer, allowing us to watch the transition from troubled man into killer. Muhammad’s point of view on her former husband casts many of the sniper crimes in a new light; for example, she suggests that John targeted two branches of a particular store because of a bad memory associated with the store and their wedding.
 
The book is full of foreshadowing, of odd behaviors that, given the events that followed, become downright chilling. A revealing, frightening, insightful, and compelling memoir.
— David Pitt
 
*****
 
fbuser1111472271 rated it:
 
Read in October, 2009 recommends it for: Victims of Domestic Violence
 
This is one of the most powerful reads of my lifetime. Not only do I remember the D.C. Sniper Killing Spree, but I wanted to understand the motives and story that led to the consequential events. I'm afraid to admit I can relate to the author on so many levels. It was like visiting with a friend for a day over tea in her livingroom and allowing her to share her life story with me. I got a real inside look at the woman who loved whom we know to be dubbed the D.C. Sniper.  So much emotion floated off of these pages that I could not put down the book and when I did I yearned to pick it back up. Needless to say I read the book in just a matter of days if not hours. It was a mad page turner for me.
 
I encourage those who are victims of abuse or Domestic Violence to read this triumphant story that has a cinderella story book ending with resources for help. I liked how this was not just a real life story but it doesn't end with the book's last page. There is website and opportunities to meet the author at the various locations across the United States. From page one the author gave out her email address to those who wanted to contact her and she is a woman of her word. Not longer then I had sent an email, she replied to me. I feel a real divine connection with this author and wish her the very best as she has inspired me beyond belief as she will you.
 
*****
 
We were all scared, November 27, 2009
By wogan "the book reader" (Severna Park, MD United States) -
 
This book hits close to home, literally. To have your daughter drive your grandson past the school where 15 minutes later a 13 year old boy is shot; to pick up that grandson less than a mile from that school at a day care center whose windows have been painted over, to stand outside your school and direct your students to hurry to their buses, loading one by one, to drive past shopping centers at night that have very few cars is to have experienced the terror the DC sniper laid on this area. Anyone living or visiting here has their own story.
 
Mildred Muhammad's story is more personal than any; and I have to admit when I first heard about this book the skeptic in me, thought; well, guess she is making some money off of this. But instead in the first few pages her sincerity shows through. She tells of her background meeting John and of their life together and his kidnapping of their children and her fight to get them back.
 
This account is a plea to others to act and protect themselves and the ones they love. The last 30 pages give addresses, telephone numbers and web sites for state coalitions against domestic violence. There are hints that help women who have been or are in abusive relationships.
Her tale is one that young girls especially should read; how that man who starts out as an attentive suitor can become a controlling abuser, emotionally or physically. Throughout the book there are lessons and warnings, hopefully others can learn from this; although one can see how hard it is to leave such a relationship, when you want to try to save it and when your life is turned upside down and existence is made almost unbearable. Her bottom line becomes don't deal with someone you have to make excuses for.
 
The writing is in 1st person, in an easy to read style, as if Mildred is talking personally to you. I had to keep reading to make sense of what happened and how one person could do this to another, a community, a state. There are so many victims; this experience took away another bit of our innocence and naiveté of the world around us. Mildred Muhammad helps us all to understand.